The election officer who resigned in Pakistan is detained

Afroza Hossain

The election officer who resigned in Pakistan is detained

The police arrested the Commissioner of Rawalpindi Division, Liaquat Ali Chatta, who resigned after accepting responsibility for rigging the recently concluded elections in Pakistan. This information was given in the report of the Pakistan-based media Dawn.

It is said that Chata surrendered to the police after resigning at the press conference. Later the police raided his office and closed it.

A local official said the administration ordered the closure of the office to prevent record fraud. However, a police spokesperson said that the commissioner was not arrested. He has been kept in police custody.

A senior official of the Rawalpindi district administration said that the security of the election officials has been increased. Election related materials and data are secured.

Rawalpindi Commissioner Liaquat Ali Chata resigned from his post on Saturday. He resigned from his post claiming that the February 8 elections in Pakistan were rigged.

Addressing a press conference at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Chatta claimed that 13 candidates from Pindi were forcibly declared winners.

He said, we kept the defeated candidates ahead by 50,000 votes. I have done injustice to Rawalpindi division. I accept the responsibility of rigging the election.

The commissioner said he had undertaken many development projects in the city but regretted tarnishing his legacy by ‘stabbing the country in the back’.

“It keeps me up at night,” he said. I should be punished for what I have done. Chief Election Commissioner and others should be punished along with me.

The Rawalpindi division of Punjab province has 13 seats in the National Assembly. Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has won 11 of these elections this year. Of the remaining two, one each was won by Imran Khan’s PTI-backed independent candidate and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari’s Pakistan People’s Party (PPP). Apart from this, PML-N won 15 of the 27 provincial seats in the division, while independents won the rest.

Commissioner Liaquat made such an explosive statement amidst the ongoing agitation by PTI and other political parties alleging massive vote rigging in the elections. However, the Election Commission rejected his claim.

Related Articles

Back to top button