The government formation of Pakistan is stuck in the reckoning

Arshad Khan

Even though 11 days have passed since the election in Pakistan, it is not clear which party will form the government.

Even though 11 days have passed since the election in Pakistan, it is not clear which party will form the government. Nawaz Sharif’s PML-N started the race to form the government after the election. They started trying to form an alliance with Bilawal Bhutto’s PPP. After that, a total of 6 parties including PPP, PML-N agreed to form the government.

Later, after the announcement of the formation of a coalition government between former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League and Bilawal Bhutto’s Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), the talks between the two parties have been repeatedly stalled. Even within Nawaz’s party, divisions have emerged. Their meetings repeatedly ended without a decision.

In the meeting, the PPP demanded the posts of the President of Pakistan, the Chairman of the Upper House of the Senate and the Speaker of the Lower House of the National Assembly. Bilawal’s party has offered to support PML-N’s prime ministerial candidate in the National Assembly in exchange for these three constitutional posts.

According to Pakistani media ARY News, Shahbaz Sharif will be the prime ministerial candidate of the coalition government formed by various parties. On the other hand, Asif Ali Zardari will be the next president.

According to sources, PML-N refused when PPP demanded the post of Speaker and Senate Chairman in the National Assembly. The party says that the chairman of the Senate will be from the PML-N. However, no decision has been taken regarding the post of Speaker.

PPP chairman Bilawal has announced that there will be no concessions in power sharing in such an uncertain situation. He told reporters at the Supreme Court on Tuesday that he and his party PPP are firm on their position. If one does not change his position then he will not change his position.

In Pakistan’s general election last February 8, no party got a single majority to form the government. Independent candidates won a total of 101 seats. Of these, 93 seats were won by PTI-backed candidates. On the other hand, Nawaz Sharif’s Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) won 75 seats, while Bilawal Bhutto’s PPP won 54 seats.

According to the election results, currently no party has enough seats to form a government on its own. In such a situation, Nawaz Sharif’s party Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari’s party Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) have started taking strategic steps to form the government. On the other hand, Imran Khan’s party PTI is thinking about forming an alliance.

Related Articles

Back to top button