West Indies win toss, bowl against Scotland

The T20 World Cup kicked off today (October 17) with the third match of the first round (Group B) of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 being played between West Indies and Scotland in Hobart’s Bellerive Oval.

Brief score: Scotland 52/0 (5.3 overs)

West Indies captain Nicholas Pooran won the toss and chose to bowl first against Richie Berrington’s Scotland.

Both captains were of the opinion that bowling first was advantageous at the venue with a fresh pitch on offer and some moisture to be exploited by the fast bowlers. The pitch has a layer of grass, however, batters are expected to dominate.

West Indies Squad: Kyle Mayers, Evin Lewis, Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran (wk, capt), Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy.

Scotland Squad: George Munsey, Michael Jones, Matthew Cross (wk), Richie Berrington (capt), Calum MacLeod, Chris Greaves, Michael Leask, Mark Watt, Josh Davey, Safyaan Sharif, Brad Wheal.

Related Articles

Back to top button