Reasons behind Trinamool’s success and BJP’s failure in West Bengal

Syed Azam

Mamata-Abhishek’s party has won 29 out of 42 seats in the state, defying various polls.

In the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections in India, polling was held in 42 constituencies in the state of West Bengal in seven phases. A month and a half after the start of the elections, the results were published on Tuesday. All the leading booth polls showed the BJP as the single largest party in the state.

Mamata-Abhishek’s party has won 29 out of 42 seats in the state, defying various polls. The margin of victory of Trinamool candidates in one seat is also eye-catching. BJP won 12 seats.

Increase in grassroots seats
The Trinamool suffered a major setback in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. BJP emerged. Ghasful Shibir to win 22 Seva seats. However, they turned around in the 2021 assembly elections. That trend was maintained in the Lok Sabha polls as well.

They won about 30 seats in this poll. Mamata Banerjee’s party’s vote share also increased. In the last Lok Sabha elections, they got 43 percent votes. This time their vote has increased to 46 percent.

Bad result for BJP
BJP had won 18 seats in the last Lok Sabha polls. 16 more than in 2014. Prime Minister Narendra Modi claimed that their results would be best in West Bengal. This claim has been proven wrong.

BJP is going to get eight seats less than last time. Votes have also decreased a lot. BJP got 40 percent votes in the last Lok Sabha. This time their vote has decreased to 38 percent. BJP, which wiped out the Trinamool in North Bengal, now the Ghassful camp has demolished that stronghold.

The inert Left-Congress
The Left and Congress contested the polls in 40 seats in an alliance. They also aroused a good response in the campaign. But they won only one seat.

Left and Congress fought separately in the last Lok Sabha. They got a total of nine percent of the votes of Seva. The Left won no seats, the Congress won two seats. This time they fought together and got about 11 hundred votes. The left could not open the account again this time. Congress lost one seat.

Big wins and losses
Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal. Five-time MP and state Congress president Adhir Chowdhury lost in Baharampur constituency. He was defeated by former cricket star Yusuf Pathan. CPM state secretary Mohammad Salim had to lose despite raising hopes in Murshidabad seat. Malda Dakshin is the face of the alliance. Isha Khan Chowdhury of Congress won here.

BJP candidate Nishith Pramanik lost against Trinamool in Cooch Behar, a hot seat in North Bengal. He was the deputy of Union Home Minister Amit Shah in the outgoing cabinet. Former Union Minister of State Subhash Sarkar was defeated in Bankura seat. Balurghat outgoing MP Sukanta Majumdar is facing a tough challenge. He is the state president of BJP.

Abhijit Gangopadhyay, who retired as a judge of the Calcutta High Court, contested the elections on a BJP ticket. He is on track to win the Tamluk Centre. Similarly, Adhikari’s brother Soumendu, the leader of opposition party Subvendu Adhikari, won the lotus medal in Kanthi.

BJP’s former state president Dilip Ghosh lost by changing seats. He was defeated by former cricket star Trinamool candidate Kirti Azad. Former Bollywood star Shatrughan Sinha of Trinamool won in Asansol. He defeated the BJP candidate former Union Minister Surinder Singh Aluwalia.

Trinamool won the battle of the stars. Rachna Banerjee won Ghatale Dev and Hooghly seats. Mahua Maitra is returning to the Lok Sabha after winning the Krishnanagar constituency. He was expelled from Parliament a few months ago.

BJP managed to retain Bangaon courtesy of Matua polls. Their candidate here is Shantanu Thakur, Minister of State of the outgoing Cabinet.

The young left candidates contesting on CPM tickets could not stand the contest even though they responded to the campaign. Srijan Bhattacharya in Jadavpur, Dipsita Dhar in Srirampur, Pratik ur Rahman in Diamond Harbour, Sion Banerjee in Tamlu.

Abhishek’s record win
Trinamool’s All India General Secretary Abhishek Banerjee is going to set a precedent for winning the record votes in the country. He won the Diamond Harbor seat by more than seven lakh votes. In 2004, CPM’s Anil Bose won Arambagh by 590,000 votes.

The opposition complained that the Trinamool did not allow agents to sit in most of the booths on the polling day in Diamond Harbour. Opposition agents were not allowed to sit everywhere during the counting of votes.

Win in any factor
Lakshmi Bhandar project is seen as the biggest contribution behind Trinamool’s victory. In this scheme women were getting Rs 500 per month. It is increased and doubled before elections. The Trinamool government started sending that money to the account in the face of the vote. More than two crore women are covered under this scheme. Their votes went in favor of Trinamool.

The Left and Congress alliance could not hold the minority vote in the state. ISF could not cut the mark. Therefore, almost the entire Muslim vote remained with the Trinamool. Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s comments directly naming Muslims during the election campaign in West Bengal and elsewhere in the country further fueled polarization in the state.

Political analyst Bishwanath Chakraborty said, “Before the election, one out of every three people is not with the BJP. Minorities are about 30 percent in West Bengal. That is, BJP is giving 70 marks exam, Trinamool is giving 100 marks exam. 2 crore 18 lakh voters are benefiting from Lakshmi Bhandar. There are other projects as well. This makes the numbers clear.

In the case of BJP, the weakness of leadership and organization has emerged as the major reason for the loss. The opposition could not build a big movement on allegations of recruitment corruption, 100 days work or corruption in housing scheme. Despite the uproar over Sandeshkhali, it could not make a dent in the polls. Trinamool won the Basirhat constituency with a huge margin. Even in Sandeshkhali Assembly, BJP candidate Rekha Patra could not advance.

So whatever the Boothferat survey says, observers believe that the people of the state actually thought otherwise. According to journalist Nirmalya Mukhopadhyay, ‘People’s anger has not been created, as it was supposed to be. That’s where it went wrong. People believed Mamata Banerjee. BJP is yet to become the party of West Bengal. There is a communication gap somewhere.’

And after two years West Bengal assembly election. Political science professor and observer Rabindranath Bhattacharya does not see much hope for the opposition there. He said, ‘I have a couple of years left. The BJP does not seem to be able to turn around in this. This time, even after the Prime Minister and the Union Home Minister campaigned, the result shows that it is very difficult to defeat the Trinamool in the assembly polls.

Related Articles

Back to top button