Bangladesh make history, win SAFF Women’s Championship title

Bangladesh has created history as they beat Nepal by 3-1 in the final match in Kathmandu to win the SAFF Women’s Championship title for the first time.

The opening goal came in the 14th minute, as substitute Shamsunnahar smartly flicked home a finish to meet a cross from the right.

Nepal was mostly restricted to long shots from outside the box, but a clever free-kick had to be saved by goalkeeper Rupna Chakma on the stretch, and the ensuing corner saw the teams almost level, with a goalmouth melee ending with Nepal hitting the post.

The hosts were made to pay in the 42nd minute, as captain Sabina showed great vision to release Krishna Rani Sorkar, who unleashed an unstoppable finish into the roof of the net that gave the Nepal keeper no chance.

Shamsunnahar replaced regular striker Shopna minutes before scoring, who had to go off with an injury.

Earlier, both Bangladesh and Nepal have won all their fixtures so far and not even conceded a single goal in the competition as yet, while putting a combined 31 goals past their opponents – Bangladesh scoring 20 in their four games, and Nepal scoring 11 in three games.

Bangladesh, previously a finalist in 2016, romped to their second final of the regional meet crushing Bhutan 8-0 goals in the first semi-final last Friday. Nepal, losing finalists on four previous occasions, booked their seats by eliminating India, champions of all five previous editions.

Related Articles

Back to top button