Imran Khan declared ineligible for election for 5 years

Abdur Rahman Khan

former Prime Minister of Pakistan Imran Khan

Pakistan’s Election Commission disqualified former Prime Minister Imran Khan for five years after being found guilty in the Toshakhana case.

The announcement was made on Tuesday (August 8) night, BBC reported.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf PTI chief has been disqualified under Section 167 of the Election Act-2017 for being convicted of corruption and sentenced to three years in prison, the Election Commission of Pakistan said in a statement.

As a result, Imran Ahmed Khan Niazi has been disqualified under Article 63(1)(h) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan under Section 232 of the Election Act-2017.

At the same time, he has been declared disqualified for the next five years and expelled from the post of elected Member of Parliament for Kurram-1 Constituency-45 in the Parliament of the country.

On August 5, Judge Humayun Dilawar sentenced PTI chief Imran Khan to three years in prison in Pakistan’s much-discussed Toshakhana corruption case. The former Prime Minister of the country was arrested within 29 minutes of the verdict in the court.

Meanwhile, Imran Khan has appealed to the High Court against the verdict in the Tosakhana case. A petition has been filed in the Islamabad High Court, his lawyer said. The case will be heard on Wednesday.

Related Articles

Back to top button